Summer Fun | Let’s Get Personal

I took a break from blogging over the summer. I thought I would have blogged considering how much I did, but I never got around to doing it.So I decided that I’d blog during the school year. That could change soon though. 🙂
This summer was a mix of long, lonely and exciting. I’m laughing at the irony of that sentence. My summer started with a volunteering job at Canadian Music Week. It was probably one of the most influential moments of my summer. I got to meet people who were in the music business, the media, bands, and got to work as well as network with fellow music lovers. Through this, I realized that my dreams of going into the music business really got to me and I wanted to make it happen. I worked the job in reception, mostly working in ticketing (mainly because it wasn’t as stressful). I was that kid that greeted the bands, delegates etc. and gave out tickets to shows. Maybe next year I’ll try a different route but I really enjoyed working in reception this year. I met a bunch of people from Durham College that are a part of the Music Management program, and I’m definitely looking into going there after I finish my degree.
Through CMW, I got into shows that I wanted to get into. I mainly wanted to see DIANA, ASTR, BROODS and Tegan and Sara. Story: when I went to see DIANA, ASTR played the same venue the same night, except their set was at 1:00 am. I had actually seen ASTR at the hotel when they checked in, but I didn’t want to disturb them. I even talked to them online prior to the show telling them whether or not I would have made it out. I ended up going, just couldn’t stay for their set. So i entered the venue, and whaddya know, the first person I saw was Kieran. We made eye contact, he smiled, I smiled, THEN I DIDN’T SAY HI. FML. I’m pretty sure he knew who I was because I messaged them a few times on twitter and Facebook. I even sat around him before their set, but I was too chicken to say anything. Anyway, the whole night I saw ASTR just chilling; Adam was more quiet, Zoe was the partier. Unfortunately I had to leave after DIANA’s set and I didn’t get to see ASTR live, but I did get to see them in the flesh. LOL.
I also got to see Tegan and Sara, Ellie Goulding and my new favourite band MAGIC! at fanfest. That was the first time I saw MAGIC! and EG live. I’ll probably get into those performances another time when I make song suggestions by them.
I also got to see HAIM for the first time. I went crazy. I pretty much cried. They are of course my other favourite band alongside T&S. Unfortunately I couldn’t meet them after the concert because I caught a cold waiting for the show to start. aha. More details another time.
I could go on and on, but here are some other highlights from the summer:
– MAGIC! x2
– John Legend
– My adorable cousins
– Colton Dixon
– Moriah Peters
– HAIM & EG x2
Sorry I had to cut a lot of my stories short. I didn’t want to make this post an essay so I’ll remember to include more details when I talk about these artists.
Hope you guys had a good summer!

Leave a Reply

