Music That Gets Me | Razor – ASTR

Hay Girl Hay! If you’re not a girl then… Hay Boy Hay! It’s not the same… lol.

Today’s song is by a duo that I found out about early this year. I instantly fell in love with them. Literally instantly. I heard the first note of the song We Fall Down, and shivers ran through my body. The synths used are heavily outrageous. I say this because they are more of an alternative pop/r&b duo, and in order to create that sound, the big synths are needed. This usually happens to me when I listen to a pop band, and it makes me incredibly happy (if you’re new here, I’m a pop junkie).

The song is Razor. I’m gunna be honest with you. It wasn’t my cup of tea at first listen, probably because of the obscurity of the introduction. BUT, I fell in love with the chorus of the song. This song is so freakin catchy, from the melody of the verses to the chorus, to the bridge. I first started to fall in love with the beat of the song. Then the bass that matched the beat made me swoon. Then that chorus won me over.  That chorus.”In my, In my heart, in my heart, you’re taking me under” is probably the most catchy hook I’ve ever heard. The song ended up being my favourite song off their debut EP, and my most played beside their amazing cover of Drake’s Hold On We’re Going Home. Zoe’s tone of voice is very unique and incredibly strong. I can definitely see why they went with this pop/r&b route with their music. I can see them becoming bigger in the future. Their whole EP features a bunch of incredibly catchy songs that will be stuck in your head for days. Their music makes me want to dance, it makes me nostalgic and it makes me happy. This is music that gets me.

Be sure to check out ASTR’s Razor, and also check out their debut EP Varsity. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

