Music That Gets Me | Love Song – Sara Bareilles

Whoa. How long has it been since my last post? šŸ˜¦ Sorry dudes, I’ve been a combination of lazy and busy lately. Maybe even uninspired, but I’ll try to be more frequent with the posts.
This song is a song close to my heart, and so is this artist. I first heard this song when I was 12 or 13. This was Sara’s breakout song, which started this unbelievable journey into the industry. So my young self heard this song and fell in love with it. It was the piano part that got me hooked. The intro has a bass, and chords all integrated into one to create the base of this song. Then her vocals came in, and my initial first thoughts were, “Wow. What a voice.” At first listen, you can tell that Sara’s voice is strong and versatile, and we can see that throughout the albums that she has put out. Since I always payed attention to the instrumentals in this song, the lyrics only started to hit me as I grew older. Probably 2-3 years ago, I realized that this is actually not a love song, more so a breakup song.Ā Thanks to this song, I learned how to improvise/groove/create a different dynamic of chords on the piano. I took five years of piano then stopped because the costs started to increase. Anywho, the song helped me to become the player that I am today. I’ve kind of adapted some of Sara’s playing styles. Since I’m a keyboardist at my church, I’m required to carry the music that we play. Sara’s style of music and her songwriting is heavily influenced on me. I strive to be a musician like Sara is, and this is why her music isĀ Music that Gets Me.

Below is Love Song by Sara Bareilles. Check out her most recent albumĀ The Blessed UnrestĀ that features her hit singleĀ Brave. I really wish I could have been a part of the music video for Brave. haha. Have an awesome day. Be happy, be awesome, be you. ā¤

Leave a Reply

