Music That Gets Me | Call It Off – Tegan And Sara

The song “Call It Off” holds a special place in my heart for numerous reasons. It was the first Tegan and Sara song I heard four years ago, and it was the song that made me fall in love with them. The song captures a lot of emotion and the message pulls on my heartstrings. Ironically, Tegan, who wrote the song, wrote the song in a totally different context. During an on stage banter, she states that she wrote the song about stalking  someone on Myspace and wondered everything that their relationship could have been. The song is beautifully written in all aspects. The intimacy of the acoustic guitar, the light guitar riffs, and Tegan’s voice make the song so much more emotionally touching. Like a lot of fans, we all can easily connect to this song because the song’s lyrics are powerful and meaningful. Everyone’s favourite lyric from this song is “Maybe I would’ve been something you’d be good at. Maybe you would’ve been something I’d be good at.” It’s screaming what if. What would our relationship had been like?

Time for a personal story. I’ll try to make it as short as I can. Recently I met a guy. He was a nice dude, we got along nicely and he understood me and my awkwardness. About three days into our relationship, he started confessing things to me, was all cheesy and wrote poems, serenaded me and all that lovely stuff. Unfortunately, I’m not the person to want to be in a relationship just three days after meeting a guy. Let’s also add the fact that I’m socially awkward and I’m afraid of intimacy. You can say that maybe I was scared, maybe I just didn’t want to be with someone so clingy, or maybe  I just wasn’t ready to be in a relationship. Regardless, I did wonder what our relationship would have been like if I had accepted him. Unfortunately, I think he’s still mad at me for not answering his messages right away, but instead, five hours later. Hey, I had my reasons. And no, I don’t think he’s ever going to talk to me again. That’s my story of the day.

The song performed live is beautiful because singing along with Tegan relieves all kinds of pain and heartbreak. Go to a Tegan and Sara concert. Sing this song with them. You’ll cry. I can guarantee it. This song gets me.

You can listen to “Call If Off” down below and you can buy their whole album “The Con” which features “Call If Off”, on iTunes. You should also get their most recent album, “Heartthrob” which was released last year. It’s a step out of their usual sound, but it’s still a great album if you enjoy Alt-Pop. Maybe that’s worth another blog post. Hmmm..

Have a great day! Be Happy, Be Awesome, and Be You.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

